Section Menu

Primary Curriculum

Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2

The English National Curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘Key Stages’ (KS). Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 are referred to as Primary Education.

For more information please go to:
Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2
Age Year Key stage
3-4 Nursery Early Years Foundation stage
4-5 Reception Early Years Foundation Stage
5-6 Year 1 KS1
6-7 Year 2 KS1
7-8 Year 3 KS2
8-9 Year 4 KS2
9-10 Year 5 KS2
10-11 Year 6 KS2

Key Stage 1

Years 1 and 2 (aged 5-7 years)

The priority within our Key Stage 1 Department is to ensure that each pupil’s experiences of school are happy and exciting. Pupils are encouraged to develop their creative and physical talents, to think independently, and to actively solve problems using their own invention and imagination.

Academic achievement is highly valued, and secure foundations are laid in Literacy, Numeracy, Spanish, Science and Information Communication Technology (ICT). The school emphasises the importance of traditional educational standards, and basics such as reading and number work are a standard feature of the school day. Pupils are introduced to specialist teaching in Language, Physical Education and Music.

A variety of assessment and monitoring of the pupils' development continues throughout their time in the department.

Key Stage 2

Years 3, 4, 5 and 6 (aged 7 – 11 years)

The sound academic grounding laid down in Key Stage 1 acts a springboard for further development through the school.

The school curriculum is designed to allow pupils to realise their full potential. The curriculum is structured to ensure each pupil is stretched, challenged and supported when necessary. Our pupils’ progress is closely monitored at all stages using a variety of internal assessments.